Shri Rama Ashtottara Shatanamavali – The 108 Names of Lord Rama

Lord Rama is the seventh incarnation of Lord Vishnu, the preserver of the Universe. Lord Vishnu took an avatar of Shri Rama on earth to annihilate the evil forces. Lord Rama has been the epitome of righteousness and gold standard while judging one’s devotion towards parents, the truth, and his words.

Shri Rama is the symbol of courtesy and virtue, a man of values and morals. Ramachandra is Maryada Purushottam, which means the perfect man.


He is one of the most commonly adored deities of Hindus and hero of the epic Ramayana. Here is the list of 108 names of Lord Rama, which are collectively known as Ashtottara Shatanamavali of Lord Rama 

108 names of Lord Rama with the brief meaning

1. OM SHRI RAMAYA NAMAHA – the Giver of happiness

2. OM RAMABHADRAYA NAMAHA – the Auspicious One

3. OM RAMACHANDRAYA NAMAHA – who is as lustrous as the moon

4. OM SHASHVATAYA NAMAHA – to the ever-lasting one


6. OM SHRIMATE NAMAHA – the Abode of Lakshmi

7. OM RAJENDRAYA NAMAHA – the King of kings

8. OM RAGHUPUNGAVAYA NAMAHA – the Most Exalted of the Raghu dynasty

9. OM JANAKI VALLABHAYA NAMAHA – the Beloved of Janaki

10. OM JAITRAYA NAMAHA – the Triumphant

11. OM JITAMITRAYA NAMAHA – the Conqueror of His enemies

12. OM JANARDHANAYA NAMAHA – the Refuge of the people

13. OM VISHVAMITRA PRIYAYA NAMAHA – the Beloved of Sage Vishvamitra

14. OM DANTAYA NAMAHA – the well-controlled One

15. OM SHARANATRANA TATPARAYA NAMAHA – the protector of those who take refuge in Him

16. OM BALI PRAMATHANAYA NAMAHA – the Vanquisher of Bali

17. OM VAGMINE NAMAHA – the Eloquent

18. OM SATYAVACHE NAMAHA – the One of truthful speech

19. OM SATYAVIKRAMAYA NAMAHA – the One who is valiant in defending Truth

20. OM SATYAVRATAYA NAMAHA – the One of truthful vows

21. OM VRATADHARAYA NAMAHA – the One who faithfully keeps His vows

Also Read :  Hindu Dharma and Mysticism - The Mystical Creatures

22. OM SADA HANUMADASHRITAYA NAMAHA – the One who is always served by Hanuman

23. OM KAUSALEYAYA NAMAHA – the Son of Kausalya

24. OM KHARADHVAMSINE NAMAHA – the Annihilator of the demon Khara

25. OM VIRADHA VANAPANDITAYA NAMAHA – the Expert in destroying the demon Viradha

26. OM VIBHISHANA PARITRATRE NAMAHA – the Protector of Vibhishan

27. OM KODANDA KHANDANAYA NAMAHA – the One who broke the mighty bow

28. OM SAPTATALA PRABHEDRE NAMAHA – the One who permeates the seven planes of existence

29. OM DASHAGRIVA SHIROHARAYA NAMAHA – the One who cut off Ravana’s heads

30. OM JAMADAGNYA MAHADARPPA DALANAYA NAMAHA – the One who shattered the pride of Parasurama

31. OM TATAKANTAKAYA NAMAHA – the Slayer of Tataka

32. OM VEDANTA SARAYA NAMAHA – the Essence of Vedanta

33. OM VEDATMANE NAMAHA – the Self of the Vedas

34. OM BHAVAROGASYA BHESHAJAYA NAMAHA – the Healer of the disease of Becoming

35. OM DUSHANATRI SHIROHANTRE NAMAHA – the One who cut off the head of Dushana

36. OM TRIMURTAYE NAMAHA – the Embodiment of the Three Gods

37. OM TRIGUNATMAKAYA NAMAHA – the Source of the three gunas

38. OM TRIVIKRAMAYA NAMAHA – the Lord as Vamana

39. OM TRILOKATMANE NAMAHA – the source of the three planetary systems

40. OM PUNYACHARITRA KIRTANAYA NAMAH – the One whose story is a source of merit to those who sing it

41. OM TRILOKA RAKSHAKAYA NAMAHA – the Protector of the three world systems

42. OM DHANVINE NAMAHA – the wielder of the bow

43. OM DANDAKARANYA KARTANAYA NAMAHA – the Dweller in the Dandaka forest

44. OM AHALYA SHAPASHAMANAYA NAMAHA – the Remover of Ahalya’s curse

45. OM PITRU BHAKTAYA NAMAHA – the Worshipper of His father Dasaratha

46. OM VARA PRADAYA NAMAHA – the giver of boons

47. OM JITENDRIYAYA NAMAHA – THE Conqueror of the senses

48. OM JITAKRODHAYA NAMAHA – the Conqueror of anger

49. OM JITAMITRAYA NAMAHA – the One who wins over friends

Also Read :  The power of the devotee towards Sri Rama is powerful than himself

50. OM JAGAD GURAVE NAMAHA – the Guru of the world

51. OM RIKSHA VANARA SANGHATINE NAMAHA – the Lord who organized the hordes of monkeys

52. OM CHITRAKUTA SAMASHRAYAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who took refuge at Chitrakuta Hill

53. OM JAYANTA TRANA VARADAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who blessed Jayanta

54. OM SUMITRA PUTRA SEVITAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is served by Sumitra’s son (Lakshmana)

55. OM SARVA DEVADHI DEVAYA NAMAHA – the Lord of all the gods

56. OM MRITAVANARA JIVANAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who revived the dead monkeys (after the war)

57. OM MAYAMARICHA HANTRE NAMAHA – the Destroyer of the demon Maricha who practiced illusion

58. OM MAHADEVAYA NAMAHA – the Great Lord

59. OM MAHABHUJAYA NAMAHA – the Lord of mighty arms

60. OM SARVADEVA STUTAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is praised by all the gods

61. OM SAUMYAYA NAMAHA – the Calm One

62. OM BRAHMANYAYA NAMAHA – the Absolute Reality

63. OM MUNI SAMSTUTAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is praised by sages

64. OM MAHAYOGINE NAMAHA – the Great Yogin

65. OM MAHADARAYA NAMAHA – the Noble One

66. OM SUGRIVEPSITA RAJYADAYE NAMAHA – the Lord who returned the kingdom to Sugriva

67. OM SARVA PUNYADHI KAPHALAYA NAMAHA – the Giver of fruits of pious work, good karmas

68. OM SMRITA SARVAGHA NASHANAYA NAMAHA – the Remover of all afflictions

69. OM ADIPURUSHAYA NAMAHA – the Primal Being



72. OM PUNYODAYAYA NAMAHA – the Source of all blessings

73. OM DAYASARAYA NAMAHA – the Embodiment of compassion


75. OM SMITA VAKTRAYA NAMAHA – the One who smiling speaks

76. OM MITA BHASHINE NAMAHA – the One of moderate speech

77. OM PURVA BHASHINE NAMAHA – the One who rarely speaks

78. OM RAGHAVAYA NAMAHA – the scion of the Raghu dynasty

Also Read :  1000-Year-Old body of Ramanuja preserved in Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple

79. OM ANANTA GUNAGAMBHIRAYA NAMAHA – the Lord of infinite majestic qualities

80. OM DHIRODATTA GUNOTTAMAYA NAMAHA – the Lord of Valorous qualities

81. OM MAYA MANUSHA CHARITRAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who incarnated as a man through His maya

82. OM MAHADEVADI PUJITAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is worshiped by Lord Shiva

83. OM SETUKRITE NAMAHA – The builder of the bridge (at Setubandha to Sri Lanka)

84. OM JITA VARASHAYE NAMAHA – the Conqueror of desires

85. OM SARVA TIRTHAMAYAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is the sum of all holy places

86. OM HARAYE NAMAHA – the Destroyer

87. OM SHYAMANGAYA NAMAHA – the Dark-complexioned One

88. OM SUNDARAYA NAMAHA – the Beautiful One

89. OM SURAYA NAMAHA – the Lord

90. OM PITAVASASE NAMAHA – the Lord clad in yellow raiment

91. OM DHANURDHARAYA NAMAHA – the Bearer of the bow

92. OM SARVA YAJNADHIPAYA NAMAHA – the Lord of sacrifice

93. OM YAJVINE NAMAHA – the Sacrificer

94. OM JARAMARANA VARJITAYA NAMAHA – the Conqueror of birth and death

95. OM VIBHISHANA PRATISHTHATRE NAMAHA – the Lord who established Vibhishana on the throne

96. OM SARVABHARANA VARJITAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who relinquished all adornment

97. OM PARAMATMANE NAMAHA – the Supreme Self

98. OM PARABRAHMANE NAMAHA – the Supreme Absolute

99. OM SACHIDANANDA VIGRAHAYA NAMAHA – the Embodiment of Existence, Awareness and Bliss

100. OM PARASMAI JYOTISHE NAMAHA – the Supreme Light

101. OM PARASMAI DHAMNE NAMAHA – the Supreme Abode

102. OM PARAKASHAYA NAMAHA – the Supreme Space

103. OM PARATPARAYA NAMAHA – the Supreme beyond the highest

104. OM PARESHAYA NAMAHA – the Supreme Lord

105. OM PARAKAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who takes His devotees across (the ocean of samsara–birth and death)

106. OM PARAYA NAMAHA – the Supreme Being

107. OM SARVA DEVATMAKAYA NAMAHA – the Lord who is the Source of all gods

108. OM PARASMAI NAMAHA – the Supreme Lord