Mind-Blowing Facts About Buddha You Probably Don’t Know

Buddhism began in India 2,500 years ago and remains the dominant world religion in the East. There are over 360 million followers of Buddhism worldwide Buddhism is based on the teachings of a prince named Siddharta Gautama who lived around 500 BCE. Kapilavastu is the name of the ancient city where Siddhartha Gautama was raised and lived until the age of 29. This ancient capital of Shakya clan is now a part of southern Nepal in Lumbini Zone.

Siddhartha Gautama left his palace in According to Buddhist tradition, the sheltered young prince was shocked by the suffering he saw outside his palace walls, so he left his life of luxury to seek answers. Eventually, he succeeded, becoming the Buddha–the “Enlightened One.” in Gaya in India. He spent the remaining 45 years of his life teaching the dharma (the path to liberation from suffering) and establishing the sangha (a community of monks).

Buddha was Born in Lumbini of Nepal, it is said that Siddhartha Gautama took 7 steps and lotus blossomed at each step right after his birth. 


Originally born a wealthy prince, Budha left it all behind to pursue the path of truth when he saw the poverty and sickness beyond his palace  walls. This also led him to drop his birth name, Siddartha Gautama.


Siddhartha Gautama was married to Yasodhara. She had given birth to a son. The child was called Rahula, which means “fetter.”



Siddhartha Gautama was supported fully by Yasodhara.The Princess had eight dreams-of-clarity, foretelling her husband’s spiritual awakening, and so encouraged him to leave the palace, to initiate this unfolding.


Unlike most religions or spiritual beliefs, Buddha’s teachings were spread by nonviolent methods such as word of mouth or carvings on  prominent stone buildings.


There are 29 Buddhas. 28 have lived. 29th is yet to come. Just like Christians believe Jesus will return to earth, many Buddhists believe Buddha will reincarnate again. He will be called Maitreya. 

Also Read :  Here is why Hinduism is actually called Sanatana Dharma


But it is also mentioned that Gautama Buddha told that thousands of Buddhas lived before him, and thousands will come after him.

There are three types of BuddhasSamyaksambuddhas Pratyekabuddhas and Savakabuddhas

Samyaksambuddhas attain nirvana without a teacher and teach how to reach Nirvana after they get enlightened themselves. Pratyekabuddhas are the silent Buddhas who attain nirvana without any teacher too. But they don’t teach the path or keep disciples. Although sometimes they do advise people on good conduct. Savakabuddhas are the disciples who attain enlightenment after following a teacher. They may choose to teach after nirvana.

The Buddha developed a system of psychoanalysis about 2,500 years before Sigmund Freud, the father of psychoanalysis

PsychoanalysisHe didn’t explicitly call his method “psychoanalysis”, but his instructions on how to analyze our mind-states at varying degrees could certainly qualify as psychoanalysis. The Satipatthana Sutta (MN 10) offers one such example.

All of the Buddhas gained enlightenment under trees.

enlightment-buddhaBuddhism is a religion which does not tell god exists or god created everything or god is the supreme power. But Buddhism emphasizes on a lifestyle which let you seek more about you thus about the universe. Which lead to nirvana (Enlightenment).

Buddha’s spot of enlightenment underneath the bodhi tree is still preserved to this day.


Buddha is considered a Hindu God by Hindu’s and one of the avatars of  the Lord Vishnu.


This is not Buddha.



Any depictions of a large, jolly man like this are in fact, Budai. Budai is a figure from Chinese folklore. This confusion stems from the fact that his nickname in Chinese is 笑佛 (The Laughing Buddha)

This is Gautama Buddha. 


If you look closely at a statue of Gautama Buddha you’ll notice several features, each with their own meaning.

  • Large ears. These are to show the increased awareness that the Buddha gained. They are also droopy, to indicate the heavy earrings that Prince Siddhartha shed when he renounced material possessions.
  • A large head. The bump on the top of the head indicates wisdom.
  • A dot in the center of the forehead. This represents power, in the form of the all-seeing eye.
  • Long fingers. These show that the Buddha can ‘catch’ people and help them improve their lives.

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasambuddhasa

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasambuddhasa

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasambuddhasa

This article is based on Quora answers

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.